Kings of Leon – Only By The Night

Kings of Leon is a modern southern rock band from Nashville, Tn. With their first album release in 2003, they have been crawling into many a listeners’ ears and making a new home in them. Caleb Followill (guitar and lead vocals), Nathan Followill (Drums and back up vocals), Jared Followill (bass and back up vocals), and Matthew Followill (guitar and back up vocals) are the soul proprietors of the band.

After listening to the past records by Kings Of Leon, one can hear the band progress in their music from a much more harder rock n’ roll band, to become what we have heard on their last album Because of the Times, and what they have done once again on their new album Only By The Night. which hits stores today, September 23. Comparing their first album, Youth & Young Manhood, to the music of Only By the Night, there is quite a marked difference in style. On this album they have toned down the rock and once again ventured farther down the softer sound path they first started traveling down with their previous album. However, with songs such as “Crawl,” they let their fans know that they do still have that loaded rock n’ roll gun with them and can draw it any time they like.

The first track in the album is titled “Closer”. There is a haunted sound to all dynamics of the song. The lyrics tell the story about how a woman has hurt a man, the rage that he feels after the woman left him, while taking his heart and his soul. This song has the amazing ability and power to allow the listener to get lost within the riffs of the guitar. With such a powerful opening song, the album raises the bar and holds it there the entire length of the album. I can honestly say, Kings Of Leon have succeeded in making yet another fantastic album though and though. If you don’t believe me, listen to the album just for kicks.

Pick up Only By The Night, available now, and catch the guys headlining tour from mid-October through mid-November with a solid line-up including supporting acts We Are Scientists and The Stills.

01. Closer
02. Crawl
03. Sex On Fire (watch)
04. Use Somebody
05. Manhattan
06. Revelry
07. 17
08. Notion
09. I Want You
10. Be Somebody
11. Cold Desert

Kings of Leon: website | myspace

Written by: Kyle Thurin



One Response

  1. […] Kings of Leon – Only By The Night […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: