Emory Joseph – Fennario

As NYC singer/songwriter Emory Joseph prepares for the release of Fennario – Songs by Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter out August 19 on Iris Records, which pays tribute to the songwriting team of Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter (really?!), the principal songwriters for the Grateful Dead, he’s offering up a video for “Tennessee Jed”

At the time of Garcia’s passing, the Grateful Dead had been together for 30 years and were the highest-grossing touring act in the world. For Fennario, Joseph carefully selected and recorded material that had never been released on studio albums and re-interpreted some of the best-loved Garcia/Hunter material.

To produce the album, Joseph enlisted the core group of top-shelf multi-instrumentalists he’d used on his critically acclaimed debut album, Labor & Spirits: Tom “T-Bone” Wolk (Hall and Oates, The SNL Band), Duke Levine and Jon Carroll (Mary Chapin Carpenter), and vocalist Soozie Tyrell (The E-Street Band). The album’s other principles are Larry Campbell (who was coming off eight years touring with Bob Dylan and who now plays with the Dead’s Phil Lesh), and drummer Dennis McDermott (Marc Cohn).

Fennario’s twelve tracks were recorded in five “round-the-clock” days, at New York’s legendary Legacy Recording Studios. There are two guest performances, bassist Lincoln Schleiffer (on “Mission in the Rain”) and long-time Garcia associate, mandolinist David Grisman (on “Brown-Eyed Women”).

Whereas I had issues with that other guy’s cover album (it’s just so random), this is a nice tribute that I hope both Dead Heads and Joseph fans alike can enjoy.

Fennario is available now on iTunes and in stores on August 19th via Iris Records.

01. Sugaree
02. Ramble On Rose
03. Tennessee Jed watch
04. Black Peter
05. Mission in The Rain
06. It Must Have Been the Roses
07. Loose Lucy
08. New Speedway Boogie
09. Brown-Eyed Women
10. Loser
11. Bird Song
12. To Lay Me Down

Emory Joseph: website | myspace | watch “Tennessee Jed”

Digg! del.icio.us


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: