Liz Phair Remastered

To celebrate the 15th anniversary of the acclaimed Exile in Guyville, Liz Phair will be reissuing a special edition of the disc on ATO Records on June 24th. You can preview the remastered material by downloading “Fuck and Run” here! The special edition will feature 4 never before released B sides and the exclusive DVD Guyville Redux. This reissue will be followed by a brand new studio album to drop this fall, also on ATO Records.

The previously out of print Exit in Guyville will be available on CD, vinyl and (for the first time!) in a digital format come June 24th. The special B sides on this re-release will be “Ant in Alaska,” with Phair simply accompanying herself on guitar, “Wild Thing,” wherein she uses the melody and central line of The Troggs‘ 1966 #1 hit as a jumping off point for an otherwise all-original song, “Say You,” which features Phair and a full band, and an untitled instrumental with Liz on guitar.

The special release DVD, included with the reissued album, Guyville Redux, features an introduction by Dave Matthews, founder/co-owner of ATO Records. Liz and the “guys” of Guyville take us back to the making of the album, the male-dominated, Chicago independent music scene of the early 1990’s (which included Urge Overkill, Material Issue, and Smashing Pumpkins), and the Wicker Park neighborhood where it all happened. Phair interviews Gerard Cosloy and Chris Lombardi of Matador Records, which originally released the record, famed indie producer Steve Albini, Ira Glass of NPR‘s “This American Life,” John Henderson of the elusive indie label Feel Good All Over, Brad Wood (producer of Exile In Guyville), John Cusack (who founded the Chicago avant-garde theater group New Crime Productions), Urge Overkill, and more.

Conceived as a song-by-song response to the Rolling StonesExile on Main Street, Exile in Guyville was released in 1993, and ranked #1 that year on both the Village Voice “Pazz & Jop” critics poll and Spin magazine’s year-end critics poll. Incredibly influential to this day, its place as a seminal rock album has been reaffirmed by its inclusion in countless historical “best of” lists over the past 15 years, including: “Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time,” Spin’s “100 Greatest Albums, 1985-2005,” Rolling Stone’s “Women in Rock (the 50 essential albums),” Blender’s “Best Indie Rock Albums of All Time,” Pitchfork’s “Top 100 Albums of the 1990’s,” and VH1’s “Greatest Albums Of All Time,” to name just a few.

Original tracklist:
01. 6’1″
02. Help Me Mary
03. Glory
04. Dance of the Seven Veils
05. Never Said
06. Soap Star Joe
07. Explain It to Me
08. Canary
09. Mesmerizing
10. Fuck and Run // stream!
11. Girls! Girls! Girls!
12. Divorce Song
13. Shatter
14. Flower
15. Johnny Sunshine
16. Gunshy
17. Stratford-on-Guy
18. Strange Loop

Bonus tracks:
19. Ant in Alaska
20. Wild Thing
21. Say You
22. [Untitled instrumental]

Liz Phair: website | myspace | download “Fuck and Run” remastered

One Response

  1. lizphair is the bombb

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: