Spice Girls – Prudential Center, Newark Nj.

To say I’ve been waiting for this my entire life isn’t true; I’ve only been waiting for this for half of my life. While I should probably consider the Spice Girls a guilty pleasure from the past, I proudly declare my love for them and their campy brand of girl power. It was my love for the Spice Force Five that had me leave my comfort zone of the 100 person capacity venue to venture to Newark’s Prudential Center, a huge arena-type place that usually hosts New Jersey Devils games. A Queer Eye guy was in the crowd and my sister and I had penthouse seats, a.k.a. the very top row.

The crowd was a mix of collegiates or recent grads, parents, boyfriends dragged along by their better halves, and lots of gays. Many fan dressed up as their favorite Spice or donned homemade tees declaring their love for all things Spice Girls. Fans waited anxiously for the show to start, which it eventually did almost an hour late, yet everyone would tell you it was worth the wait. The lights went out at 8:30PM and the entire venue erupted in cheers and clapping as the live band began “Spice Up Your Life” and Scary, Sporty, Ginger, Baby and Posh rose up from the floor in futuristic outfits to sing their first hit from their second album surrounded by a gaggle of break dancers.

Not a single song in the entire two-hour show was lip synced, which was made apparent with “Headlines,” the group’s latest single, that they were not lip syncing; the dances moves from the girls were also noticeably tame so that all the jumping around wouldn’t screw up their singing. The Girls were backed by a live band featuring the usual guitars, percussion and piano, but also had a lively brass section for several songs. Many of the songs featured kicky remixes or played at a different tempo to confirm the authenticity with which the five sang.

The costuming by Roberto Cavalli was beautifully done, natch. Outfits included variations on coattails and top hats, a modern update to the Girls’ traditional outfits (Union Jack dress for Geri, leopard print body suit for Mel B, track suit for Mel C, baby doll dress for Emma, and little black dress for Victoria), Flamenco-inspired dresses, and S&M inspired gear. In addition to amazing outfits, the stage show was beautifully done with an astounding display of lights and videos and silly props all over the place. The finale included two huge shots of silver and gold confetti which covered the stage and crowd on the floor.

I can’t honestly remember the last time I was at a concert with a stage show and costume changes and which cost more for one ticket than I usually pay to see 4 separate shows. It was good enough that I’m contemplating going to next week’s show in Philadelphia and buying floor seats for it. Judge away, haters. 😀


Setlist:
Spice Up Your Life, Stop, Say You’ll Be There, Headlines, Lady Is A Tramp, Too Much, 2 Become 1, Who Do You Think You Are, Work (Victoria Beckham/Posh solo), Are You Gonna Go My Way (Melanie Brown/Scary solo), Emma Bunton/Baby solo (sang one of her solo songs that I don’t know), Viva Forever, Holler (sans Geri Halliwell/Ginger), It’s Raining Men (Geri Halliwell solo), I Turn To You (Melanie Chisolm/Sporty solo), Let Love Lead The Way, Mama, Celebrate, That’s The Way I Like It, We Are Family, Goodbye
Encore: If U Can’t Dance, Wannabe, Spice Up Your Life remix

One Response

  1. […] me really loved this, I went to go see the Spice Girls. [Ed. Note: Who am I kidding? The 23 year me loved it just as much.] JK: The last guy who interviewed me went and saw the Spice Girls! PW: Shut up! […]

Leave a Reply

