Super Bowl Mixed Cd!

Who says that you can’t combine sports and music. In celebration of today’s Super Bowl, I have decided to highlight some of the best songs from each team’s respective cities. 10 songs per city, one song per band. You guys vote which city wins!

Boston:

1. The Pixies – Where is my mind?
2. Dinosaur Jr. – Freak Scene
3. The Cars – Just What I needed
4. Dropkick Murphys – Drunken Lullabies
5. The Dresden Dolls – Sing
6. The Might Mighty Bosstones – The Impression That I Get
7. Letters to Cleo – I Want You (To Want Me)
8. Piebald – American Hearts
9. Boys Like Girls – Dance Hall Drug
10. Aerosmith – Dream On

New York:

11. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps
12. The Velvet Underground – White Light/White Heat
13. Ramones – I Wanna Be Sedated
14. Talking Heads – Burning Down the House
15. Blondie – Heart of Glass
16. Jay-Z – 99 Problems
17. The Walkmen – The Rat
18. Sonic Youth – Kill Yr Idols
19. Billie Holiday – Strange Fruit
20. Ella Fitzgerald – It’s De-lovely

Enjoy!

4 Responses

  1. Quelle bonne idée!

  2. Isn’t it sad how few good modern bands have come out of NY?

  3. @ zen: I left a lot out. For example:

    The Strokes, The Bravery, Interpol, Vampire Weekend, MGMT, Taking Back Sunday, Mindless Self Indulgence, Regina Spektor, Coheed and Cambria, Beatstie Boys, Matisyahu.

    I could go on, and I’m sure Jess will.

  4. Ha! Josh you know me too well. My absolute favorite out of NY is Kevin Devine (and the Goddamn Band). Also: Pablo, The Jealous Girlfriends, The Moldy Peaches, Jeffrey Lewis, Ryan Adams, Cassettes Won’t Listen, Project Jenny Project Jan, Nightmare of You, Straylight Run, Foreign Islands, Detachment Kit, Breakup Breakdown, and just a ton.

Leave a Reply

